2020 Gala

SPA planned to host its Vibrant Gala on April 18, 2020, which was cancelled due to the COVID-19 pandemic. While we can’t celebrate in person this year, we want to recognize our amazing chairs Kourtney and Vijay D’Cruz, Honorary Chairs Mary Ann & David McKeithan and Cheryl Byington, and our three Gala honorees for their longtime support and partnership with Society for the Performing Arts.

Gala Chairs
Kourtney & Vijay D’Cruz


Honorary Chairs
Mary Ann & David McKeithan
Cheryl Byington

RWP 3647 1
Theresa Einhorn photo Alexander Rogers

The 2020 Ann Sakowitz Performing Arts Advocate Award recipient is Theresa Einhorn. Theresa has served SPA as a board member for an extraordinary 24 years, holding numerous leadership positions during that time, including Board Chair. Her tenacity and dedication to SPA have made a profound impact on the arts in Houston.

Locke Lord

2020 Corporate Honoree Locke Lord has supported SPA since our founding in 1966. Following the devastating effects of Hurricane Harvey, Locke Lord generously hosted SPA staff in the firm’s offices for three months. Bill Swanstrom, a partner at Locke Lord, has served on the SPA board for the last 10 years and currently serves as Locke Lord’s Vice President of Development, as well as the Chair of this year’s Gala Underwriting Committee.


2020 Community Honoree Kinder High School for the Performing Arts (HSPVA) has been an SPA partner for over 25 years. Through this remarkable relationship, countless students at HSPVA have had the extraordinary opportunity to learn from SPA’s touring artists. We hope you enjoy this video celebrating our partnership with HSPVA.